Skip to main content

my little sass monster

Sophia. My biggest challenge. The one who is most like me out of all 4 of my kids. She is super smart, very compassionate about things she cares about. She does not back down. Most times when I look at her , even when her head is spinning , I am so incredibly proud of the strong person that she is. Other times I just want to and hunker down and cry. Its hard folks. Its hard to reprimand someone who is just like you.I get her feelings and sometimes she doesn't always know how to deal with them, Hell, neither do I! I  too,am a very strong willed person.  We feel everything x's a thousand. We love with everything we have . I am fiercely loyal if I love you. When we are betrayed or hurt , it is worse than a death. We are dramatic.Most people love us but we are a rather hard breed and don't really let people in too close. If we do, you are something special.
We had a zoo outing today. I am a troop leader for her Girl scout troop.I love that I can do this with her,I LOVE all of my girls in my troop and love that I have gotten to know them so well . Our little troop kicked butt in cookie sale and one of the things we chose to do was go to the Zoo. We had a great day and learned a lot and saw a lot.
      And then there is Sophia. Nothing out of the norm. Just her will to do as she wants , fearless and hard headed. After all is said and done and we are home settled on the couch, After hours of traffic , an RV fire, and a bad accident , we make it home safe and sound.
She is sitting next to me . She has the biggest shit eating grin on her face and says " Hey, you know all that not listening today ?  All that sass? " I say " yes.. why?" She says"Well it was all a joke, It wasn't real." I just stared at her. Part of me wanted to scream and lock myself in the bathroom . The other part of me is like , this kid is a freaking genius. Who says that ?? Who gets away with that? How do you respond to that ? I just stared at her . I had nothing . She stumps me and my quick witted mouth more than anyone on the planet. Touche` you little sass monster, touche`. This is the same child who will yell at me during one of her fits and scream" I LOVE YOU OK??" while I am  attempting to put her in her place. WTF! what do you say to that ? She's a master mind! She's not fighting fair.  She is so my daughter.
This is her latest tactic. She leaves notes for me. I find them after she's sleeping , so again she gets the last word. This says : Dear mom, Its all because of you. with a smiley face with tears shooting out of its eyeballs. They were sent to bed after rolling on floor and fighting. SO she did not get to do her "sister sleepover with Cynthia, the teenager.

And this one. I asked her to go to beach. She prefers the pool. Her response was " I will go, IF you give me this hat... for keeps" 
And this one. Dressed up for a very fancy day and she is climbing the mast of a ship and shouting commands to her crew below her. She is me, balled up into this little person who doesn't see she is doing anything wrong other than being passionate, and handling her shit.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

the noodles

So I read this article online this morning from another blogger about choosing parenthood over career advancement .Essentially it is about working to sustain your life but not over achieving to get that big promotion or raise so you can have a better home life and time with your kids. It is choosing to not invest your all into your job ,but to your family. Obviously, most people have to work. I work full time as well as my husband. I was able to stay home for quite a while with kiddos and I'm so very thankful to that. Going back to work was exciting and sad for me. Excited to have adult conversations , loosen the purse strings and have time outside of the home .Staying home is so very hard. There is no pay, you are over worked, your bosses are mini little tyrants at times and you cannot say screw this shit and quit.So its challenging. But for us , my kids are a little older now and this is what is working for my family. I was also Sad for obvious reasons. I loooove my kids. I am s...

contentment.

      SOOOOOO the head noodle in charge canned me ..Do I tell people ? What do I say? It is pretty funny if you think about it , I laughed at it so its ok. Chuckle away. I had a lot of people ask me if it was because of the blog. I don't think it was. I didn't have any common friends with them on face book or in life .  I also blocked them all on face book prior to this. But It is odd. I had a very positive review last week. A lot of " you're a great fit~you are a hard worker". Friday she comes in my office to tell me again, you are a great worker, we are thankful for all of your hard work. But we let your go. umm what ? Naturally I asked if there was a reason why or if something went wrong. That was simply followed by "NO" . Not a smile, not a crack of any life( hence the noodle reference) . It is slightly humiliating. I did not love it there. I did not have any sort of future there. Which is one of the reasons why I didn't love it there . It served...

stinky bubbles = free hair products

Sooo what started off as an innocent trip to the store with kiddo #2, ended in one of THE most awkward ~ifeelsobadforyou~ moments of my life. I am pretty used to being the one that things happen to and letting it roll off and laughing about it.. Now I know what everyone else around me feels when they observe the not so normal shenanigans that seem to follow me . Odd to be on the other end of it .   In this house, with 4 girls, we are pretty into hair trends and fashion . Someone is ALWAYS switching things up with their hair ,compliments of my favorite beauty school drop out, moi !  I do save us a lot of money by doing it at home so thats the plus side. So for our latest adventure in hair evolution , kiddo #2 and I head to the store to get supplies.  I pick out our goodies, make small talk with the girls who work there who pretty much know me by now as this is a regular stop for me . We head up to the register to pay and are next in line. The woman in front of us pays an...